Historic Preservation Commission

Historical Preservation Commission Members

Historic Preservation Commission Members

Front, left to right: Rayna Leibowitz, Helen Holman, Liz Budd

Rear, left to right: Ed Avis, Esther Slattery, George Rogers, Earle Lamoreau


The Commission came into being as a result of the passage of the Town's Comprehensive Plan.

Meetings of the Commission are held the third Monday of every month at 6:45 p.m. at the Hiram Shorey History Center.  Public attendance at these meetings is welcomed and encouraged.

An independent off-shoot of the Historic Preservation Commission is the Historical Society of Litchfield. The Historical Society was established in 1973 and the mission of the Historical Society is the collection, preservation, and dissemination of the history of the Town of Litchfield.


Historic Preservation Ordinance